Community Pathways Waiver - Renewal 2018

The Community Pathways Medicaid home and community-based services (HCBS) waiver requires renewal by the federal government, through the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), every five years. The Community Pathways Waiver Renewal was submitted to CMS on April 2, 2018 and  includes best practices and stakeholder input generated since 2014 and during the development and comment period of the two New DDA Waivers (i.e. Family Supports Waiver and the Community Supports Waiver).

The goals for the renewal application include:

  • Innovative service options aimed at providing supports that build on the DDA’s existing Community of Practice related to Employment and Supporting Families;
  • Participant and family self-direction opportunities;
  • New Supported Living and housing support services to increase independent living opportunities; and
  • Transitioning to new Employment Services and provider rates.

Services have been grouped under “Meaningful Day (Employment and Day Services)”, “Support Services”, “Residential Services”, and "Self-Direction Services”.

**Update** - Community Pathways Waiver Renewal Submission – April 2018

For more info, see

 Waiver Renewal Next Steps

  • Information Sessions on Community Pathways Waiver Renewal Application – September 2017
  • Revised Renewal Service Proposals posted to DDA website – October 2017
  • Rate Study Town Hall Meetings – November 2017
  • Community Pathways Waiver Renewal Application posted to DDA website – November 2017
  • Official final public input –  November 2017
  • Waiver renewal submission to CMS – January 2018
  • Respond to CMS Questions – January through June 2018
  • Projected CMS Approval – June 2018
  • Projected effective Date – July 1, 2018